"Klaatu barada nikto."

Standard


The Day the Earth Stood Still is one of my favorite moves. Ever. I vividly remember seeing it with my older brother when I was about six years old and being entranced. Aside from being a classic piece of science fiction and masterfully paced story telling, it is just beautiful. Black and white, but with silvery tones and velvet blacks; lots of the best scenes are shot at night with shadows deep as a trench, it’s like the best film noir with the added thrill of a flying saucer. Plus the glam Patricia Neal carried off by a giant space robot.

So I now I find out Hollywood is planning a remake. Of course. Take something iconic and perfect and try to recreate, or “better” it. When I heard Keanu Reeves was cast in it, I assumed he’d be the robot, since that’s what his so-called acting has always reminded me of. Silly me. He is, of course, this generation’s Michael Rennie. Yet another sign that we are living in the end times.

About mrpeenee

A former bon vivant and terror of a number of New Orleans bars in the mad, gay 1980s, I'm now quietly retired and widowed in San Francisco. I have a crooked nose due to an unfortunate Frisbee accident.

12 responses »

  1. On a different yet related tangent, do you remember a group from the 70s called “Klaatu” that people thought was actually the reunited Beatles? It was quite the thing for a moment.

    Like

  2. Sorry, so many typos in my last comment I just had to trash it and start again…It’s a favourite film of mine too, but then I always had a thing for big, strong silent types. Years and years ago I sought out the original 1940 short story by Harry Bates “Farewell To The Master” that the film was based on. [wikipedia < HREF="http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Farewell_to_the_Master" REL="nofollow">link<>] In the book it is a little more obvious that Gnut is not just the silent henchman, but is actually the boss, the intergalactic ploiceman himself, while Klaatu is more like his servant. It’s quite a tender little story.The idea of a remake makes my head hurt however.

    Like

  3. Thombeau, I know Klaatu! They did “Calling Occupants of Interplanetary Craft” – subsequently covered by the Carpenters! Fabulous. Peenee- I’ve not seen this movie yet, but I love Patricia Neal. Her face is all 90 degree angles of superiority. She’s not jagged exactly…just pointy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

