Amy Camus, P.I. R.

Standard


Oh dear, yet another Giant Among Us cut down. Yma Sumac has passed, returned to her Incan forefathers. Who knew she was still alive-ish, here in 2008? Did you know? I didn’t know. The obit in the SF Chronicle today was filled with myth busting dreariness, but did include the scintillating nugget that she had a LP re-issued in the 90s called “Yma Rocks!” I am off to amazon as soon as I finish this to snag one.

I saw her in a 50s movie with Robert Young(!) about a bunch of plane crash survivors in the Andes being warbled at by Herself. I think I saw it. Maybe I just dreamed it. Still, I salute you, oh Peruvian Songbird of Extreme Freakishness.

About mrpeenee

A former bon vivant and terror of a number of New Orleans bars in the mad, gay 1980s, I'm now quietly retired and widowed in San Francisco. I have a crooked nose due to an unfortunate Frisbee accident.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

