Showtime

Standard

I had a class from a local college coming in to our office this evening for a presentation by an organization we fund. The Dog et Pony show was scheduled to start at 6:00, coincidentally, the same time I was supposed to head home. I had a bad feeling when the speaker was late and then really late, so I waited around and sure enough, no show. I asked the teacher, who was getting increasingly freaked out, what the speaker was supposed to cover. She said it was going to be “How to Start a Business” something I could speak on in a coma. In fact, I might have done just that. For a cowardly moment, I considered slinking off into the night, I had already stayed late here last night and it’s cold and rainy and I just wanted to go home, dammit. Instead, I said I’d be glad to cover for him, the lousy little no-nuts chicken rimmer. Hit it, boys!

An hour’s presentation, with no notes, no preparation, no idea what the fuck I was saying. Am I a pro, or what? I am also a grubby pro who didn’t shave this morning and wore an old sweatshirt. I look more like I should be asking for spare change than giving advice on entrepreneurship. This should teach me, but I’m sure it won’t.

About mrpeenee

A former bon vivant and terror of a number of New Orleans bars in the mad, gay 1980s, I'm now quietly retired and widowed in San Francisco. I have a crooked nose due to an unfortunate Frisbee accident.

4 responses »

  1. I’m sorry I wasn’t paying attention during the second half of your presentation. Did you say, “I needed to have venture capital and a solid beeswax plan for my venture into the business of beeswax?” I’m confused.

    Like

Leave a Reply

