The Future Foretold

Standard


While digging up the picture of me and R Man from Mardi Gras gone by, I also ran across this photo of my paternal great-grandparents, Maggie and Philip Whitnebert. Maggie obviously lives up to my family’s legends of her: mean and crazy as a shit house rat. She is also, I now realize, the one member of my family that I most closely resemble as I dwindle into curmudgeonly old age.

Oh dear.

About mrpeenee

A former bon vivant and terror of a number of New Orleans bars in the mad, gay 1980s, I'm now quietly retired and widowed in San Francisco. I have a crooked nose due to an unfortunate Frisbee accident.

8 responses »

  1. It’s heartening to know at least one other person who is beginning to resemble their meanest grandmother. I occasionally see her in the mirror staring back at me with her cruel beady eyes.

    Like

  2. My great grandmother Katherine used to shoot those shit-house rats with her shotgun. Also the basement rats. Happily, though I do sometimes feel like shooting people of the rattish persuasion, I don’t own a shotgun. So I can’t be a thing like her, right?

    Like

Leave a Reply

