Books ‘n Beefcake

Standard

I was browsing on Amazon (because I am an easy mark) and came across an interesting sounding book. I refuse to share the title of it now, I want no one to know the depth of my shame. Just let me say that not even I could get past the last sentence in the product description/review:


“…one that will help her heal the pain of her own past and allow her to love again.”

Oh really? That’s your plan for pedaling this dog? A tagline that was musty when it was dragged out for an RKO weepie 80 years ago? No thanks.

In other book news, I am willing to share the name of what I’m currently engrossed in, Her Fearful Symmetry. Beautiful and interesting writing, by the author of The Time Traveler’s Wife, but I’m only about a third of the way in and it seems to be losing steam. I plan on forging ahead, we’ll see.

Also, houseboy Gunter Vitagio (below) has offered to heal your pain if it will allow you to love again. Reasonable rates apply.


About mrpeenee

A former bon vivant and terror of a number of New Orleans bars in the mad, gay 1980s, I'm now quietly retired and widowed in San Francisco. I have a crooked nose due to an unfortunate Frisbee accident.

5 responses »

  1. “one that will help her heal the pain of her own past and allow her to love again.”

    I dunno…if this were on a cookbook maybe, I'd be likely to buy it.

    Like

  2. I absolutely LOVED Time Traveler's Wife, though I stayed away from the movie. In my mind, the title character could only have been played by the actress who was Claire on Six Feet Under. She would have been PERFECT. But no. Hollywood sucks.

    Like

Leave a Reply

