Sunday Night at the Movies

Standard

As I mentioned, the New York Times groused that Liz and Dick was “not terrible enough,” but I don’t know what they were whining about, it seemed plenty awful to me.  Puh-lenty.  Diane von Austinburg kept asking what I had expected.  It was pretty much just as bad as I had been led to think, but that was what kept me cringing and moaning loudly throughout.

We debated who might have been better cast in the leads.  I was undecided between William Shatner and Courtney Love as Richard Burton, but absolutely convinced that Liz should have been Lypsynka.

Then we stumbled on a French silent movie that made no sense, possibly because we were all loaded by then, possibly because we missed the first hour and had to refer to all the characters by labels like “Baby Teeth” and “Crazy Wig”.  There was a seance in the Magic Room where Crazy Wig’s brother climbed under the table, apparently to orally satisfy the guests.  As you can imagine, the whole thing was a great improvement over Liz and Dick.

About mrpeenee

A former bon vivant and terror of a number of New Orleans bars in the mad, gay 1980s, I'm now quietly retired and widowed in San Francisco. I have a crooked nose due to an unfortunate Frisbee accident.

7 responses »

  1. Oh dear, I gave in and watched it too…thanks (?) to you for reminding me.
    Thank goodness I was not alone. It's best not to watch these things alone.

    What did poor Liz ever do to deserve this?

    Like

  2. Well, I for one, apparently the only one, think that it was the most brilliant and accurate portrayal of Liz Taylor ever created by Lifetime television!

    I feel certain that La Lohan will win a Golden Raspberry for this loving homage and I think her research into the role especially paid off as an older Liz of which we saw exactly 4 minutes. She also really nailed Liz's distinctive high pitched shrill voice and accent.

    Like

Leave a Reply

