In Which mrpeenee Reveals His Shame.

Standard

I am not a political person.  I am a cynic who came of age with the hippies and then wound up surviving the worst of the AIDS plague and George Bush and I worked for the federal government.  I have, as they say, seen both sides now.  But that doesn’t mean I don’t have opinions, in fact, they are quite brilliant ones, naturellement.

Out at dinner last night a friend asked “Would you rather have Trump or Reagan as president?” and I said Trump.  Astonishment and concern flowed.  I think the general agreement was that I was suffering an udon induced stroke.

And even as I voiced my vote, I felt ashamed to have said it out loud.  I think Trump is detestable, actually a worse person than Reagan, a possibility unthinkable before this campaign.  My point was this: if you have two people trying to shoot you and one can aim and the other is a moron who is not quite sure which end the bullets come out of, which one seems more likely to cause damage?

Reagam was a monster who caused widespread and lasting damage and the reason he was able to do so was because he was capable of working in the halls of power.  Trump on the other hand, doesn’t seem like he could find those halls with GPS.  I understand he will be surrounded by much smarter men working for him who will know how to push the buttons, but still, evil and stupid versus evil and canny.  I said Trump.  Oh, the shame.  The shame.

10726

Also, this guy.

About mrpeenee

A former bon vivant and terror of a number of New Orleans bars in the mad, gay 1980s, I'm now quietly retired and widowed in San Francisco. I have a crooked nose due to an unfortunate Frisbee accident.

9 responses »

  1. You have a good point there.

    Somewhere in the back of my mind, I think Trump doesn’t really believe half of what he says.
    If (God help us) he’s elected, his supporters
    will be more horrified than the rest of us, I think.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Well dear….when Reagan was in I was on a chronic Rum binge and don’t remember much. So if Trump wins, I forsee a good gin and tonic binge…..along with a few stiff ones. At least I’ll be in a good mood.

    Like

  3. We lived through Reagan (though at the time I didn’t think we would). I’m worried we might not live through Trump. We shall discuss Wednesday at Dahlia Lounge (YAY!).

    Like

  4. I understand your argument, but I think it is terribly dangerous. Nobody knows what Trump is capable of, if he is really sane, or what he would do when he is in charge. There is absolutely no garantee that he would choose advisors. Basically he is a monster behind a closed door. All we know for sure is that he pisses on anything, and is even more anti-intellectual than the average redneck.
    “President Trump” is the best argument against democracy you can find. But of course – I said it months ago, and I say it now – all will be better under president Trump. If you elect him, you deserve him. But excuse the rest of the world that can not understand this American grandeur.

    Like

Leave a Reply

