Oh, l’amour, l’amour

Standard

Ah, the romance of Valentine’s.   All the red glittery redness, more hearts than a cardiologists’ convention.  And CANDY.  I shall be making a bee line to a local confectionaire for their after sale.

I knew it was that sweet season when I was dragged to consciousness from a really top form nap by a waft of stink.  I’ve mentioned before we live surrounded on three sides by urban wilderness with coyotes, and hawks, and SKUNKS.  They’re all out making baby skunks, so pretty much once or twice a week during this time of the year we can count on the pungent air of a pissed off polecat.  Plus by the time you smell it, it’s to late to close the windows and try to create some cordon sanitaire, you’re trapped in the Skunk Zone.

Anyway, who cares, skunks need love too.  So to all of you out tonight making ooo, ooo, baby noises here’s to you.  And for the rest of us, here’s to us , too.  At least we don’t smell like skunk.  Or if you do, that may be why you’re here with the rest of us.  Think about that.

images

Oh, l’amour, l’amour, l’amour, l’amour

About mrpeenee

A former bon vivant and terror of a number of New Orleans bars in the mad, gay 1980s, I'm now quietly retired and widowed in San Francisco. I have a crooked nose due to an unfortunate Frisbee accident.

13 responses »

  1. My last house backed onto a greenbelt with lots of critters. Would often see a mother skunk with babies. One year she had seven of the little things tumbling along after her. Luckily, never had any odor problems with the skunks.

    Best wishes with the randy skunks.

    Like

    • I ignore them. What else is there to do? Standing in the window screaming “I’ll get you , you mother fucker” is likely to only increase my reputation as the Crazy Old Man of the neighborhood.

      Like

  2. From a (significant) distance, I rather don’t mind the smell of skunk. Makes me think of my childhood on the farm (no lie!).

    As for love, well, it is what is. In only vaguely related matters, in your trawling through Chaturbate, have you ever run into the egregious/amusing Travis Steel? His pose is straight daddy forced to grovel for tokens. Makes a fortune. When there’s stuff like this out there for free, I suppose it’s no wonder John Waters can’t raise money for a new film – the cinema of transgression is all now on webcams…

    Like

    • That’s exactly what I was going to say about skunk stank. “From a distance” *is* important, but the scent is a powerful trigger for childhood nostalgia, those first warm Spring/Summer evenings.

      Like

      • tragically, a great many of these skunk entanglements seem to occur right outside my boudoir window, so distance is simply not significant enough.

        I shall keep an eye out for young Mr. Steel. He sounds terribly amusing.

        Like

    • I meant See’s, but Walgreen’s had these big red cardboard heart shaped boxes that were huge, size of a small refrigerator. If you were investing in one of those for your VD gift, I can only assume it was some serious sanction you were trying to weasel out of.

      Like

Leave a Reply

